Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: ATI and Nvidia as physX  (Read 14077 times)
puer
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« on: May 16, 2010, 12:18:47 am »

Hi,
I just installed my ol' 8800Gt as a physX card to go w/ my 5870.
I really have yet to see any improvements in games aside from the UT3 PhysX maps.  If it were not for a huge increase in FPS id be wondering if my 8800 is doing anything at all.

What is the benefit of having a dedicated physX card as a hybrid set up like mine?  My 3dmark06 score was not much higher..maybe a 1000 points but that could be due to the new catalyst 10.04 drivers.  Metro 2033 still runs like a pig on dx11 full settings.  My highest frame is 39 and lowest 17. MY other games run well w/ the 5870 on its own.
Logged

i5 750 @ 4 ghz, AC Freezer 7 rev2,
Gigabyte P55M-UD2,
4 g's Mushkin 1600 dd3,
Radeon 5870 Sapphire/8800gt for PhysX
Audigy 2 zs
Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
Antec 900
Logitech G15
Zogrim
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 564


Expert Scrounger


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2010, 02:30:20 pm »

Quote
I really have yet to see any improvements in games aside from the UT3 PhysX maps.
You won't see any improvements in games, except titles listed here

Quote
My 3dmark06 score was not much higher
3dmark 06 does not support hardware acceleration (but it uses PhysX SDK for certain physics calculations on CPU)
GPU/PPU PhysX is supported only in 3dmark Vantage

Quote
Metro 2033 still runs like a pig on dx11 full settings
Dedicated PhysX GPU won't help you with DX11 settings.
As I see from benchmarks (last graph, with DX11 and Adv. PhysX OFF) your main GPU performance is insufficient.
Logged

PhysXInfo.com Team
puer
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2010, 07:01:49 am »

I noticed that MSI afterburner shows both my GPUS's.   When running a "PhysX" game you can see my 1st GPU usage rise (5870) but not from my 2nd GPU (8800gt).  What gives? 
Logged

i5 750 @ 4 ghz, AC Freezer 7 rev2,
Gigabyte P55M-UD2,
4 g's Mushkin 1600 dd3,
Radeon 5870 Sapphire/8800gt for PhysX
Audigy 2 zs
Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
Antec 900
Logitech G15
Zogrim
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 564


Expert Scrounger


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2010, 11:49:03 am »

Quote
When running a "PhysX" game you can see my 1st GPU usage rise (5870) but not from my 2nd GPU (8800gt).
Of course your first GPU usage will rise, because it needs to calculate graphics.

As for dedicated PhysX GPU, it's usage will depend on game, and in-game situation.
To ensure your setup is working properly, I can recommend to test it with latest FluidMark
Logged

PhysXInfo.com Team
puer
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2010, 01:53:10 pm »

I tried the latest Fluid mark, I only had version 1.0, thanks!  My score is 159 on default settings and 57 w/ Force physX on.  This fluid mark shows both GPUS and i even saw the 8800 raise its temperature slightly but in Afterburner its usage remained at zero.    I turned PhysX off in the Nvidia control panel, ran fluid mark and same score (force physx) 57. My question is, how do I know that my 8800gt is working?
Thanks
Logged

i5 750 @ 4 ghz, AC Freezer 7 rev2,
Gigabyte P55M-UD2,
4 g's Mushkin 1600 dd3,
Radeon 5870 Sapphire/8800gt for PhysX
Audigy 2 zs
Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
Antec 900
Logitech G15
Zogrim
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 564


Expert Scrounger


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2010, 11:39:54 pm »

Quote
57 w/ Force physX on.. and same score (force physx) 57
Of course score is the same, because you're forcing PhysX on CPU in both cases

To see if dedicated GPU is working, you need to enable PhysX in Nvidia Control Panel and than uncheck "Force PhysX CPU" option in FluidMark
Also, you'll be able to see PhysX (CPU/GPU) mode on FluidMark results window, near Globalscore points
Logged

PhysXInfo.com Team
puer
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2010, 11:59:27 pm »

my results:
Global SCORE: 151 points (60000 ms) - GPU PhysX
PhysX: 151 (25 SPS) - GraphX: 151 (25 FPS)
3 emitters - Particles: 59940
Multi-core:ON - Async mode: OFF
Res:1024x768(FS) - MSAA:0X - PostFX:OFF
ATI Radeon HD 5870
Catalyst 10.4 - 8.723-100406a-098769C-ATI (4-6-2010)
core:0MHz - mem:0MHz
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU         750  @ 2.67GHz  (not O/c'ed)
Windows 7 64-bit build 7600 [No Service Pack]
Physx version 9100129  2 GPUs (CrossFire ON)  <---------------I see here 2 GPU's listed
Logged

i5 750 @ 4 ghz, AC Freezer 7 rev2,
Gigabyte P55M-UD2,
4 g's Mushkin 1600 dd3,
Radeon 5870 Sapphire/8800gt for PhysX
Audigy 2 zs
Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
Antec 900
Logitech G15
puer
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2010, 12:05:15 am »

I had no idea "Force PhysX" meant the cpu would do all the work, I thought it "forced" the 2nd gpu.  Its all new to me.  Basically I am trying to discover whether this 2nd GPU is worth having, is it going to improve some of the games I enjoy playing (metro 2033, Darkvoid, Batman AA)
Logged

i5 750 @ 4 ghz, AC Freezer 7 rev2,
Gigabyte P55M-UD2,
4 g's Mushkin 1600 dd3,
Radeon 5870 Sapphire/8800gt for PhysX
Audigy 2 zs
Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
Antec 900
Logitech G15
Zogrim
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 564


Expert Scrounger


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2010, 06:44:20 am »

Quote
PhysX: 151 (25 SPS) - GraphX: 151 (25 FPS)
Well, pretty normal result for your system

Quote
Basically I am trying to discover whether this 2nd GPU is worth having
Most people I saw are using something like 9600/9800/GT240/GTS250
Also, you can browse through our news feed.. a lot of benchmarks for various PhysX games were mentioned there
Logged

PhysXInfo.com Team
puer
Newbie
*
Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2010, 12:26:09 pm »

thanks a lot for your help Smiley
Logged

i5 750 @ 4 ghz, AC Freezer 7 rev2,
Gigabyte P55M-UD2,
4 g's Mushkin 1600 dd3,
Radeon 5870 Sapphire/8800gt for PhysX
Audigy 2 zs
Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
Antec 900
Logitech G15
REAPER
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2010, 04:25:43 am »

I have 2 5970s and a 450gts and when I run vantage with the latest mod 1.04ff the pc freezes at the physx test but it initializes the card (this is only when I extend the display) otherwise if I dont have the display extended then it will not even initialize the physx card for the test. 

also my 3dmark06 bench is now only utilizing 20% of one of my gpus and only a little bit of the other 3 like 6% my bench with the physx card dropped from 31k to 18k pls advise on what I need to do to get my pc running at speed again.
Logged
Zogrim
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 564


Expert Scrounger


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2010, 04:20:54 pm »

REAPER
In your case, I can recommend you to ask here
Logged

PhysXInfo.com Team
dadcup
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2010, 06:54:29 am »

hello i try to setup 4870 + 250gts but is not work so i did all but what see the is happe is when i have my 4870 connect i not see my 250gts in device manager

Logged
Zogrim
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 564


Expert Scrounger


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2010, 01:01:04 pm »

dadcup
Have you followed installation FAQ, as described here ?
Logged

PhysXInfo.com Team
dadcup
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: December 09, 2010, 05:15:05 am »

hello i want to know how i setup my 790gx 128m modo with 4870 + 250gt i try a read all forum but not work in my system why
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: